Surprises in Miami

 

Just a few hours ago I landed in Miami for what I thought would be a beautiful weekend on the beach, away from the Arctic tundra that we call Boston. Too bad the weather in Miami took a turn for the worse just as I landed, pouring rain of course.

Starving after our long flight my friends and I walked to Publix, Florida’s famed grocery chain. I went in looking for something savory but of course, ended up in their bakery section. To be honest I didn’t really think I would find anything worth blogging about there but an impromptu decision to try their dulce de leche tartlette changed that.

The adorable size made it that much more fun to eat. The tart was perfectly baked with a layer of chocolate ganache topped with gooey caramel. It tasted just like eating a spoonful of dulce de leche icecream – it was incredibly decadent. I was super impressed of the quality of desserts at a grocery store!

If you are from Florida and get a chance to shop at Publix, make sure you check their bakery out and try a tarlette. You won’t regret it!

Now back to praying the weather gets better so I can make it to the beach tomorrow…

AM

Leave a comment