Puerto Rican Delights

All I want to do is rewind back to last week where I was laying on the beach soaking in the warm Puerto Rican sun. Amidst my beach days and hiking in El Yunque (the national rainforest of Puerto Rico) I discovered my latest obsession at a local panadería (bakery, duh!). Quesitos are a local Puerto Rican breakfast food but in my opinion can be eaten at any time of the day. Think croissant + danish but 100x better. If Dominique Ansel got his hand on these, the cronut would be a thing of the past (in my opinion). The owner of the bakery explained to me that a quesito is a honey glazed pastry that is filled with lightly sweetened whipped cream cheese. It tastes best warm and the flaky croissant-type exterior makes way for the soft cream cheese creating the most incredible taste. It is the perfect breakfast party for those who can’t handle too much sugar, since quesitos are the perfect balance. After I tried it on my first day in Puerto Rico, I stopped at every local panadería and had one. Yes, I ended up eating more quesitos than actual meals on my trip, but who’s counting?

The taste of the warm honey filled bread is still in my mouth. I wonder if I can order some online? If you know of a bakery that sells these scrumptious pastries in the Northeast please let me know, I am having serious withdrawals.

AM

2 thoughts on “Puerto Rican Delights

Leave a comment